my maid of honor: my little sister

pexels-photo-69498

I got married last month. Here is a note given to me by my maid of honor, AKA my little sister Gracie.

First, let me preface it by saying this – I took a backseat to my wedding. I decided not to plan anything. I wanted to be surprised.  I didn’t know where the wedding was going to be, what the invitations looked like, what the ceremony would entail. The only things I knew for sure were my dress, the cake, and my vows.

My sister Gracie is a wedding planner. She knows me better than any of my friends, and she takes pride in her work. So, she wanted to do all of it.

I let her. She wrote me this note.


 

My sister,

I love you. I’ve always loved you; and I’ve always felt loved by you. Despite the things mom and dad have said about us; about how you acted towards me when I was little – I’ve always felt loved by you.

And because of this, I wanted to take it upon myself to plan your entire wedding.

You’re an amazing gal, Jordan. I can’t think of any other woman who would allow her sister to plan her entire wedding…I’m so grateful for your carefree spirit. I loved every part of it.

My favorite part was planning the flowers. Just in case you ever have any need for a florist in the future – I have the perfect one. It was my first time working with Thompson’s-Westwood Florist.

I know your favorite color is orange. Thankfully, this Fredericksburg, Virginia florist did the perfect job creating arrangements that feature your favorite color.

I can’t wait for you to see them.

Love,

Gracie

Leave a comment