gracie’s first job

pexels-photo-260922

I am so proud of my little sister. She landed her first job today as a hostess in a local upscale restuaurant. I’m going to give her some advice, as causally as possible.

I’m going to tell her to work hard. Restaurant owners respect you when they see that you’re working hard.

I’m going to tell her to eat all the food. Eat everything they give you. Try it all. And particularly at the restaurant where she’ll be working. It’s a good one.

I’m going to tell her to be very, very careful not to flirt with the men she works with. I started working as a hostess as a self-conscious 19-year-old single girl. My first taste of attention and I was hooked. I’m going to tell her she’s beautiful before all those men get the chance to tell her. I’m going to do all I can to see that she believes she’s beautiful – no matter how she does her hair or what she wears. She’s beautiful.

I’m going to tell her not to let customer’s attitudes affect her. If they’re in a bad mood, don’t let thier mood affect yours. Draw the line and hold to it.

I’m going to tell her to wear comfortable shoes. Though you might feel better about yourself if you wear heels, you’re going to be standing and walking around a lot. Your feet/back/whole body will hurt if you don’t take care of your feet and wear well-made, comfortable shoes.

 

Leave a comment