gracie has a baby!

pexels-photo-268431

My, my, my…how time flies.

I remember writing about my sister’s birth. I remember retreating to that childlike mental space; remembering how that feels as a child to attempt to understand the process of new life coming into the world. The same thing is happening again – only I’m an adult.

And I still don’t fully understand it.

But alas, we’re not meant to understand it all, I suppose.

My younger sister now has a baby girl named Shannon. Shannon was 2 weeks late; so we were all relieved when she finally popped out. She came out screaming, with bright blue eyes and a full head of dark brown hair. She’s amazing.

My sister and her husband are excited, but terrified. Because the truth is, Shannon isn’t their first. They had a still birth just last year. That baby was also a girl, her name was to be Elizabeth. But she died a week before her due date; so Gracie still had to deliver her.

That was one of the hardest things I’ve ever seen my sister endure. Probably for the rest of her life – she will always wonder what could have been. What would Elizabeth have been like? Would she be a singer like her mother? Or a painter like her Dad?

Either way, God has given them a new life to hold on to. But I know Gracie is worried she might hold on too tightly.

Her husband, Ben, is also a little afraid. But he is one of the strongest, most peaceful men I’ve ever met. I just know that as they lean on each other, their lives will blossom. And so will little Shannon.

Oh, I get so excited when I remember that I’m now an Aunt!!! I can’t wait to spoil her with toys and trips and tacos. Shannon is my first niece; so our bond will be special.

Well, I’m gonna go visit them for the 3rd time this week. I have food to give them – and I can’t get enough of my little baby girl!

‘Till next time! Peace, y’all!

 

 

Leave a comment