Gracie’s first big loss

pexels-photo-219624

I love being a big sister. I have so many opportunities to show Gracie how much I love her.

But sometimes it’s a challenge…because I want her to recognize my love and appreciate it. And usually, she does. So I’ve come to expect it.

But there are some moments in a sisterhood – or in any loving relationship – when you need to give without expecting to receive. You need to give love when they need love and not worry about getting it back.

This is one of those times.

My younger sister Gracie recently lost her best friend. She was killed in a car accident. It was an icy night, and the driver who hit her had been drinking.

Gracie isn’t doing well. So I sent her flowers.

Aside from attending the funeral with flowers, I also sent flowers to Gracie. I got them from fallonsflowers.com. They were her friend Susan’s favorite – black-eyed susans. Susan’s family received a large arrangement for the funeral home, and Gracie will be getting a regular delivery on the 2nd of every month. Sometimes they will be black-eyed susans, sometimes they won’t.

Either way, they will remind Gracie that Susan is now in Heaven. Just like the new life in these flowers that she gets every month; we too will have new life. Renewed life. Day by day, for eternity, we will live. That’s the hope we have in Jesus, and that’s the hope that Gracie clings to when she thinks about Susan’s passing.

Susan passed too soon. Way too soon. She was beautiful, talented, not yet married. But her parents are trusting God’s sovereign plan over the pain in this world. They’ve even reached out to the young man who drove drunk and killed their daughter. They’re mentoring him and paying for his rehabilitation process.

See, life is peppered with beauty.

You just have to adjust your sight…and soon, you too will see the light.

Leave a comment